Rumpole

One of my favorite fictional characters is Horace Rumpole.  Years ago, someone gave me a series of videos of the TV shows called Rumpole of the Bailey.  I enjoyed them thoroughly, and when my sister gave me a copy of a Rumpole Omnibus, I was hooked! As I got to know him better over the years,  I’ve harbored a secret wish that old Rumpole would come to life and that I could get to know him in person!  John Mortimer has done such a thorough job of developing the character of  Rumpole, it’s hard to think that he isn’t real.  Well, in my imagination, he’s real enough, I guess.  I read and reread the stories and all the characters have become like dear old friends (even the annoying ones!).

2 responses to “Rumpole

  1. Brenda Leyland October 24, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Ahhhh…dear old Rumpole….I love him too.

    One of my favourite book friends is Father Timothy Kavanagh from Jan Karon’s Mitford series. I’ve read her books so many times, Father Tim seems real as life!

    Brenda

  2. Rambling Woods December 13, 2008 at 10:28 am

    My husband I loved that series..the actor who played Rumpole passed away..but he is always alive on tape. I wonder if I could find them for my hubby as a gift

Leave a Reply

