Expanding My Horizons (Literarily)

While doing some web-surfing, I came across this website:

http://www.literature-map.com/

You type in the name of an author and up comes a list of other authors who might be similar in style or content.  I’m hoping to find some exciting and new (to me)  writers.  It’s good to have comfortable old favorites, but it’s easy to get in a rut.  Change can be good!  So if you have a couple of spare minutes today, check out this site.  I think you’ll be glad you did!  By the way, my poetry-loving husband typed in Robert Frost, it was quite amazing at what came up!  Have fun 🙂

7 responses to “Expanding My Horizons (Literarily)

  1. David Guretzki October 29, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    That’s very cool.

    Interestingly, Kathy, when I typed in Robert Ludlum, Ken Follett came up as closely related. Funny how I just heard of Follett yesterday!

  2. David Guretzki October 29, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    P.S. If you want to see something REALLY amazing, type in Karl Barth.

  3. Kathy October 29, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Hi David, thanks for stopping by. I did try Karl Barth. I had to spit my mouthful of Coke back into the glass (eww) and guffaw out loud, heartily. A man outstanding in his field, so to speak…..

  4. David Guretzki November 3, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Kathy, have you ever read anything by Wendell Berry? He looks like he might have some interesting stuff…

  5. Kathy November 3, 2008 at 8:46 am

    Hi, David, no I haven’t come across Wendell. I’ll have a look. Where did you run across him?

  6. David Guretzki November 3, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    I’ve seen some theologians talking about him on a blog I frequent. He is a Christian intellectual/novelist.

  7. David Guretzki November 7, 2008 at 11:07 am

    How about Michael O’Brien? He is a Canadian Catholic novelist that has been recommended to me.

Leave a Reply

