New Book

000_1124a1

I just finished a new book by Colleen McCullough, The Independence of Miss Mary Bennet.  I enjoyed it, but my favorites of hers are still The Ladies of Missalonghi and her first, Tim.  This new story is about Mary Bennet, sister to Elizabeth and Jane Bennet, of Pride and Prejudice fame,  twenty years later.  It’s not what I would call McCullough’s best literary effort (the characters remain mostly two-dimensional, the crises and resolutions are somewhat forced) but nonetheless, a very enjoyable way to spend a grey and overcast day (of which we’ve had several lately).

2 responses to “New Book

  1. Namnet November 16, 2008 at 7:45 am

    I will try to find this book in our town library.
    I love Pride and Prejudice, there´s just a few authors like Jane Austen. And that´s why I am usually very anxious to read sequels by different author than who wrote the original. I am afraid of spoiling my favourite characters:-)

  2. Kathy November 17, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Hi, Namnet. If you do find the book in your library,I would be interested to know if you enjoyed it or not.

Leave a Reply

